Public Domain Images Online

Give credit. Pay nothing.

WPA Posters Collection, Online at the Library of Congress

Posted by Laurie Frost on June 1, 2009

I keep hoping that the economic stimulus plan will include funding for the arts, but I haven’t seen any sign of this. In contrast, one of the legacies of the New Deal’s Works Progress Administration are the iconic American photographs by Dorothea Lange [“Migrant Mother”], Arthur Rothstein [“Farmer and sons walking in the face of a dust storm”], Walker Evans, and others as employees of the Farm Security Administration, a New Deal Department of Agriculture agency, which means their works are in the public domain. You can see these here.

Once again we return to the Library of Congress’s Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, this time to look at a few of the 907 WPA posters advertising events supported by Federal funding or created as public service announcements between 1936-1943. A brief history of arts funding in the WPA is provided as well. Many deal with health and World War II; others promote domestic tourism, using libraries, and so on. Here’s a sampling, with credits listed at the bottom of the post.

I love the vibrancy of these tourism posters:

3g04243r3b48747r

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A number of health posters urged testing for syphilis, sanitation, and safety:

3f05350r3b48847r

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then there are these promoting arts events — exhibitions, plays, concerts, dance – all funded by the WPA:

3b48894r3b49011r

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

07144r

3f05370r

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a tiny sampling of those about WWII:

3g05065r

3f05359r

3b49079r

Credits [artists are not listed for all posters]:

Cave. LC-USZC4-4243 (color film copy transparency). Artist: Alexander Dux

Puerto Rico: LC-USZC2-847 (color film copy slide), Artist: Frank S. Nicholson

Syphilis: LC-USZC2-5350, LC-USZC2-947

Art Institute: LC-USZC2-994. Artist: John Buczak

Concert: LC-USZC2-1111. Artist: Leslie Bryan Burroughs

Native Ground: LC-USZC2-5370. Artist: Emauel DeColas

Dance: LC-DIG-ppmsca-07144. Artist: Richard Halls

Disaster: LC-USZC4-5065. Artist: Phil von Phul

Visibility: LC-USZC2-5359

Salvage: LC-USZC2-1179

5 Responses to “WPA Posters Collection, Online at the Library of Congress”

  1. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words
    in your post seem to be running off the screen iin Opera.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting iswsue orr something too do with internet
    browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you
    know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Cheers

  2. Jacinto said

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. That
    is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  3. Hello I am so glad I found your weblog, I really found you
    by error, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a
    all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  4. Mindy said

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own blog now 😉

  5. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme
    in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
