Public Domain Images Online

Give credit. Pay nothing.

Who Was Dorothea Lange’s Migrant Mother?

Posted by Laurie Frost on June 2, 2009

In an earlier post I noted that one of the most famous American photographs of the twentieth century is in the public domain in the United States since it was taken by Dorothea Lange when she was employed by the Farm Security Administration during the Great Depression. What came to be known as “Migrant Mother” was one of six images shot by Lange on March 9, 1936 near Nipomo, California, where migrant workers were in a dire situation since the crops they had come to harvest had been destroyed by freezing rains.

On the following day,  according to Geoffrey Dunn’s essay for New Times: San Luis Obispo, “Photographic License,” the San Francisco News published this picture:

8b29525r

 The next day it used the one that became known as “Migrant Mother.”3b41800r 

But who was this mother?

Lange didn’t ask her name when she took the pictures. In the 1970s she identified herself in a letter to a local newspaper editor signed Florence Thompson, and this is the name now associated with “Migrant Mother.”

In fact, in 1936 she was Florence Owens. It wasn’t until after WWII that she remarried and became Florence Thompson.

Florence Owens Thompson’s reason for writing her letter, which was picked up by the Associated Press, was distress at the picture’s fame:

In the AP story, Thompson declared that she felt “exploited” by Lange’s portrait. “I wish she hadn’t taken my picture,” she declared. “I can’t get a penny out of it. [Lange] didn’t ask my name. She said she wouldn’t sell the pictures. She said she’d send me a copy. She never did.”

Likely Lange couldn’t sell the pictures, but Thompson must have assumed she did when several appeared in the papers, and certainly after Lange’s assignment with the FSA ended, her career was enhanced by the fame she gained with “Migrant Mother.” Dunn reports that one of Florence’s children, Katherine McIntosh, says Lange

“also told mother the negatives would never be published–that she was only going to use the photos to help out the people in the camp.”

Lange, indeed, sent the photos to the Resettlement Administration in Washington, where the photos had an immediate impact on federal bureaucrats, who quickly rushed 20,000 pounds of food supplies to pea-picker camp in Nipomo.

Florence and children, and her partner, Joe Hill, father of Norma Lee, infant in the pictures, were already out of the area.

Florence was from Oklahoma, but she first left the state in 1926. Florence Leona Christie [b. Sept. 1, 1903] was a full blooded Cherokee, which means that her ancestors were in Oklahoma not by choice but because of the forced migrations from their homelands along what came to be known as the Trail of Tears to the Oklahoma Territory.

She first arrived in California with husband Cleo Owens. When he died of TB in 1931, she had five children and was three months pregnant with her sixth (Katherine). Two years later when she was pregnant by a man whose family she feared would take their son’s child from her, she went home to Oklahoma. In 1937 she returned with members of her extended family to California, and became involved with Hill.

Lange’s pictures temporarily eased the sufferings of the stranded and starving migrants at the Nipomo camp. Many years later, finally, Florence saw some small profit from her portrait. In 1983,  sick with cancer, Florence had a stroke which left her in need of constant nursing attention. This $1400 a week care was more than her chidren could afford.

Her son Troy Owens asked Jack Foley at the San Jose Mercury News for help. Dunn reports,

The story Foley filed for the Mercury generated national attention. More than $35,000 poured into a special Migrant Mother Fund administered by Hospice Caring Project of Santa Cruz County, much of it coming in the form of rumpled dollar bills.

The contributions came in from all over the country. Nacaodoches, Texas. Russellville, Ark. New York City. Los Angeles. But a good many of them came from the farm towns of the San Joaquin Valley that Florence Thompson called home for most her life–Fresno, Wasco, Tulare, Selma, Visalia.

“The famous picture of your mother for years gave me great strength, pride and dignity–only because she exuded those qualities so,” wrote a woman from Santa Clara.

“Enclosed is a check for $10 to assist the woman whose face gave and still gives eloquent expression to the need our country still has not met,” expressed an anonymous note from New York. . . .

In all, nearly 2,000 letters arrived, and the overwhelming response forced the Owens-Hill children to reconsider Lange’s portrait of their mother in a new light.

“None of us ever really understood how deeply Mama’s photo affected people,” said Owens. “I guess we had only looked at it from our perspective. For Mama and us, the photo had always been a bit of curse. After all those letters came in, I think it gave us a sense of pride.”

 . . . On Sept. 16, 1983, a few weeks past her 80th birthday, Florence Thompson died at her son’s home.

Her gravestone reads: “Migrant Mother–A Legend of the Strength of American Motherhood.”

Another source of information about Florence is her grandson Roger Sprague’s website, Migrant Grandson, the Library of Congress’s overview, and the Art Department of the Oakland Museum of California, which has the largest collection of Dorothea Lange’s work (her work for the government represents only four years of a career in photography spanning from 1918 to 1965, most of which, of course, is not in the public domain).

In addition to the two photographs above, the American Memory Collection at the Library of Congress also includes these three:

8b29523r

8b29527r

03054r

This is Roger Sprague’s caption for the last of these photos:

Persons in picture (left to right) are: Viola (Pete) in rocker age 14, standing inside tent Ruby age 5, Katherine age 4, seated on box Florence age 32 and infant Norma age 1 year being held by Florence.

One more photo of Florence’s family didn’t make it to the Library of Congress. It’s on Roger Sprague’s site, however:

M2

Second of six (6) photographs taken by Dorthea Lange on March 9, 1936 at Nipomo, California. Pete has moved inside the tent, and away from Lange, in hopes her photo can not be taken. Katherine stands next to her mother. Florence is talking to Ruby, who is hiding behind her mother, as Lange took the picture.

 

 

Credits for Library of Congress holdings :

Child holding post: LC-USF34- 009095-C

Florence & Ruby: LC-DIG-ppmsca-03054

Nursing: LC-USF34-T01-009097-C

Girl in rocker: LC-DIG-ppmsca-03054

41 Responses to “Who Was Dorothea Lange’s Migrant Mother?”

  1. You need to monitor the resources utilized by IE, and in case you
    feel that a lot of memory is being used the very moment IE is launched (ideally
    memory usage grows as you open more tabs, download data,
    or try to attach data to emails and perform other operations such as audio or video
    streaming), it is probably due to the fact that IE is loading with plenty of add-ons.
    ‘ IT departments are more taxed for time and manpower
    than ever before. This was the era of the Thick Client if there are technical support people
    reading this then please, no laughing.

  2. Bob said

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate
    your efforts and I am waiting for your further write ups thank you once again.

  3. Howdy I am so delighted I found your weblog, I
    really found you by error, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like
    to say kudos for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great
    deal more, Please do keep up the superb job.

  4. Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple
    iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Keep up the great work!

  5. When I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox
    and now whenever a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment.
    There has to be a way you can remove me from that
    service? Many thanks!

    • havealittletalk said

      This is what WordPress says to do: “If you want to stop receiving comment notification or start receiving notification on all comments on a particular blog, click the “Subscription Options” link at the bottom of the notification email. You can also use the link shown below.” See http://en.support.wordpress.com/following-comments/ for illustration. Let me know if this doesn’t work and I will ask WordPress. I am getting so much spam I may simply disable comments! I can imagne how frustrating it must be for yu to be notified 4 times over of the same trash comments. My regrets!

  6. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an
    email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested
    in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  7. rental said

    Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity to your
    post is just cool and i could suppose you’re an expert in this subject.
    Fine with your permission let me to take hold of your feed to stay updated with imminent
    post. Thank you one million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  8. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am
    inspired! Very helpful information specially the remaining part 🙂 I
    take care of such information a lot. I was seeking this particular
    information for a very long time. Thanks and good luck.

  9. […] a poor mother in the depression. However, the composition of this picture was staged. According to this website, the subject (Florence Owens) was never compensated for even after the picture became an […]

  10. It’s difficult to find experienced people on this topic, but
    you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanksstreetdirectory

  11. I do trust all the ideas you have presented
    in your post. They are really convincing and will
    definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too quick for beginners.
    Could you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

  12. […] the subjects? Let’s look at “Migrant Mother,” who was for years unidentified. According to Public Domain Images Online, “Migrant Mother” was one of several images shot by Dorothea Lange in late winter, 1936, near […]

  13. Excellent post. Keep writing such kind of information on your page.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hello there, You have done an incredible job. I will definitely digg it and for my part recommend to my friends.
    I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  14. I have read so many content concerning the blogger lovers however this piece of writing is truly a fastidious
    piece of writing, keep it up.

  15. Hello, I read your new stuff daily. Your humoristic style is witty, keep doing what you’re doing!

  16. Hey there, You have done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  17. I’m very happy to discover this site. I wanted to thank you for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely liked every part of it and I have you saved to fav to check out new stuff on your web site.

  18. I am extremely inspired along with your writing talents and also with the structure
    for your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it your
    self? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it’s rare to see a great weblog like this one these days..

  19. Shelli said

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading
    it, you can be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your
    blog and will eventually come back later in life.
    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

    We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome website!
    We stumbled over here different website and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking over your web page again.
    I love what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and reporting! Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve
    you guys to blogroll.
    Greetings I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on
    Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and
    would just like to say thank you for a marvelous post and a
    all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all
    at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do
    keep up the awesome job.
    Admiring the dedication you put into your website and
    detailed information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed
    information. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Hola! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent work!
    I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you
    ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A small number of my blog readers have complained about
    my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?
    I am curious to find out what blog system you’re utilizing? I’m experiencing some
    small security issues with my latest website and I’d like to find something more safe. Do you have any recommendations?
    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the
    whole thing. Do you have any points for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.
    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that
    “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you have done a awesome job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on Firefox.
    Excellent Blog!
    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?

    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours
    and my visitors would definitely benefit from some of
    the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Regards!
    Hi there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and
    I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thank you, I appreciate it!
    Awesome site you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any discussion boards
    that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get comments from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Many thanks!
    Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Thanks!
    Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have created some nice procedures and we are looking to trade strategies with other folks, please shoot me an email if interested.
    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog.

    You have some really good posts and I believe I would
    be a good asset. If you ever want to take
    some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested. Many thanks!
    Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. However think of if you added some great pictures or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this blog could definitely be one of the most beneficial in its niche. Awesome blog!
    Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Kudos
    Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!
    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Firefox. I’m not sure
    if this is a format issue or something to do with
    web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon. Cheers
    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created
    myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission.

    Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being stolen?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.
    Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free
    to send me an email.
    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to take
    a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my
    followers! Superb blog and fantastic design.
    Very good blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting
    with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid
    option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Many thanks!
    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less.
    I’ve been using WordPress on various websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!
    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over
    time.
    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!
    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m
    not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful site!

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in trading links or
    maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My website addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

    At this time it seems like Expression Engine is the preferred blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?
    Fantastic post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d
    be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Thank you!
    Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic
    but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for
    my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!
    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Bless you!
    Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a
    new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable
    information to work on. You have done a wonderful
    job!
    Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.
    Good day! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!
    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?
    Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!
    Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!
    I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?
    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

    This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was
    almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!
    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy
    on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

    Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers
    Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good blog!
    Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been
    trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Cheers
    Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you
    Hello! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My web site looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!
    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll
    go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future.

    Many thanks
    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire
    someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks a lot
    Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s
    on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same
    layout and design. Great choice of colors!
    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its
    a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.
    Hi there are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!
    Hello this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from
    someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

    Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no data
    backup. Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

    Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new posts.
    Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked
    hard on. Any tips?
    Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very
    good results. If you know of any please share. Kudos!
    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like
    yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% certain.

    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly
    appreciated. Thanks
    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the
    blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

    I’m not sure exactly why but this weblog is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later
    on and see if the problem still exists.
    Hey there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the superb work!
    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  20. I love it when people get together and share opinions.

    Great blog, keep it up! Read Full Report

  21. Marvelous, what a webpage it is! This web site provides useful information to us, keep it up.

  22. Natalie said

    I almost never drop responses, however i did a few searching and wound up here Who Was Dorothea Langes Migrant Mother?

    Public Domain Images Online. And I actually do
    have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Is it simply me or does it give the impression like some of the remarks appear like they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on other online sites, I’d like to keep up with
    anything new you have to post. Would you make a list of every
    one of all your communal sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin
    profile?

    • havealittletalk said

      Some remarks are very brief and may be by folks writing in English as a second language. But unless a comment is obviously spam or porn, I approve it because I appreciate that people take the time to stop by and say hello.

      I don’t tweet.

      I have a couple of other WordPress blogs: havealittletalk, bowiesattva, aboutchs (but this one is of local interest), and I contributed to huntsvillealfail.

  23. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am having troubles with your RSS.

    I don’t know why I can’t join it. Is there anybody having the same
    RSS problems? Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly
    respond? Thanx!!

  24. Thanks for some other magnificent post. Where
    else could anybody get that kind of info in such a perfect method of writing?

    I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such
    information.

  25. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This article
    posted at this site is actually fastidious.

  26. Great article. I am going through some of these
    issues as well..

  27. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
    facebook group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    • havealittletalk said

      Please do. The images are all public domain, meaning that they are free to use for whatever purpose (just credit their source — like Library of Congress) as I do. And thanks!

  28. Hi there colleagues, pleasant post and nice urging commented
    here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  29. Right here is the perfect web site for anybody who really
    wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject which has been written about for decades.
    Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

  30. Having read this I believed it was really enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this informative article
    together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading
    and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

  31. Somebody essentially lend a hand to make seriously posts I’d state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular publish incredible. Magnificent process!

  32. Very good information. Lucky me I ran across your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve bookmarked it for later!

  33. Maple said

    Hello I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by mistake, while I was
    searching on Askjeeve for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it
    all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

  34. Poignant, even today.

  35. […] the people in the plight that we were all in, the hard times.””  Florence Thompson who was Dorothea Lange’s Migrant Mother said that “”she felt “exploited” by Lange’s portrait. “I wish she hadn’t taken my […]

  36. […] week’s Poetry Jam prompt is one of Dorothea Lange’s famous Dust Bowl photographs of Florence Owens Thompson. I am not reproducing the image here for many reasons. First, if you click on the Poetry Jam link, […]

  37. havealittletalk said

    Thank you so much for writing.
    I was surprised to learn this picture, as well as Rothstein’s of the father and son in the dust storm, was in the public domain.
    It’s a pity that the new stimulus package has nothing, as far as I can tell, for artists and writers.
    I imagine that looking at the Migrant Mother series, esp. the image on the Sprague site only, would make a great lesson: even the best photographers don’t always shoot great shots.
    There’s a fair amount on the failure of Lange to get Thompson’s story in academic political-cultural theory journals.
    Did you know Lange also photographed Manzanar and the Japanese internment process? Watch this space.

  38. Beth Perry said

    This article is truly inspiring. I am an art teacher in Greenville South Carolina. I taught photography in Florida for 3 years and of course, Dorthea Lange’s photos were among the famous photos that I taught my students. However, I did not know the whole story about Ms. Thompson, The Migrant Mother. This was and will always be one of my favorites and to know Ms. Thompson’s story, only adds to the rich history. I only wish I had know of her plight at the end of her life, I would have glady given to help her out. Thank you.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.